Juveniles & Minors
Juveniles are defined as persons 16 years of age or younger. Minors are persons 20 years of age and younger cited with an alcohol or tobacco related violation.
Appearance is Required
State law requires an appearance before the judge to enter a plea. A plea cannot be handled in writing, by mail, by payment of fine or at the Municipal Courts' Cashier Window.
Juveniles are required to appear in open court accompanied by a parent, managing conservator or custodian. A minor is also required to appear in court if charged with an alcohol-related violation or a tobacco related violation. The court will mail notice of the date, time, and location to appear. The notice will be mailed to the address on the front of the citation that was issued to the juvenile or minor. For more details regarding your court appearance, see Juvenile Hearing Information and Trials.
Please note: Juveniles that fail to appear on their scheduled court date, a notice will be sent to the Texas Department of Public Safety to suspend your drivers' license or prevent your ability to obtain your license.
Notice to Juvenile & Parent
Pursuant to Article 45.057(h), Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. A child and parent required to appear before the court have an obligation to provide the court in writing with the current address and residence of the child. The obligation does not end when the child reaches age 17. On or before the seventh day after the date the child or parent changes residence, the child or parent shall notify the court of the current address in the manner directed by the court. A violation of this subsection may result in arrest and is a Class C misdemeanor. The obligation to provide notice terminates on discharge and satisfaction of the judgment or final disposition not requiring a finding of guilt.
If you have any questions, please contact the Municipal Court at 817-426-9220.